A full circle

IMG_20151013_174253

We used to play a game,

few hours in a day,

to escape the demons

and the snakes, those

tortured her with knives

every night.

She’d let me sit on her stomach

while I purred on her skin,

she’d cracked up wildly.

I’d hogged her warmth,

snuggled her body,

she’d let me hold her.

No questions asked.

As my little arms

couldn’t cover her body,

fattening with the pills,

she accepted only from my hands,

my innocence thanked the gods,

for I was there to save her.

Then the clock ticked tocked,

my body stretched,

the game already forgotten,

and I became aware of Nietzsche.

Twenty years later,

I need her to save me.

While the demons still haunt her mind,

I know she will let me hold her.

No questions asked.

Leave a Reply

